Open to Interpretation

So, here’s always the part that gets a little tricky about cosplay–especially when you are trying to be as true to the character as possible. One must remember that they are usually basing their cosplay off of a fictional character and, most usually, fictional clothing and props. The interpretation of an animated character can often leave much to be desired insofar as clarification for the cosplayer. And a number of fan-drawn art pieces (based on their own interpretation of that character) can sometimes either help or hinder a cosplayer’s effort to create something as close as possible to the look and feel of that original character.

For example, I ran up against this wall with Nora’s staff (which I’m now working on). Shepherd staffs typically do not bear the crookedness which hers does, so I had no choice but to make it myself, based on my interpretation. Last year, I also ran up against this wall with Saber’s armor set, which was very much both interpretive and innovative, as I only had an animated character and some figurines to go off of–although the figurine really helped.

Now, my latest dilemma is the interpretation of what exactly is going on around Nora’s waist. Based on colors and placement, it almost looks to me as though her skirt is pulled up over her vest, and that there is some sort of brown hip wrap over that, and then a brown belt over that. But then, I’m not sure how her horn sticks to the belt she wears (if it is, indeed, a belt). Clearly, as seen in the pictures below, the horn can be removed; though there is no indication as to how it is attached in the first place. There is also some sort of leather wrapped around the horn. I’m not sure if this is how it is attached to the belt or not.

In any case, I’m looking to stay as accurate to the character as possible while still keeping everything functional (I bought the horn with the mouthpiece for a reason). So, I’m more than open to suggestions as to what people think is going on in the pictures. This is part of the creative process!

This entry was posted in Paladin Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

