Mei Goes Medieval

So, this project is still in-process. But for the moment, Mei’s just going to have to sit there in what I’ve managed to finish, since there’s still stuff to do for the magazine!

This is my take on a casual, medieval look: Either for Mei or for Ari. The base dress is constructed from a brown crushed velvet from the original (and improved) pattern that I made. The neck and armholes have been hand sewn, and the hem has a nice clean edge to it. The back of the brown dress features a zipper, which had to be cut down to fit, as well as a hook and eye closure. Under the dress, I’ve created a peasant shirt from the dress pattern, though I’ve cut it slightly differently and added angel wing sleeves. At the moment, it’s held together with a safety pin. However, I plan on adding lacing to the front of the shirt. I also plan on making her a little mini leather waist cincher when I get the chance, which will be worn over the brown dress as a belt.

This entry was posted in Paladin Project. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mei Goes Medieval

  1. Rayna says:

    Sooo pretty ❤ You need a pretty painted background, or a calendar with a bunch of landscapes to put behinf her for when you take pics. Awesome.

    • paladinari says:

      Well, when I get her the proper undergarments (ie, I want to get her stockings so that her resin legs wouldn’t get dirty), I plan on taking her outside for a natural and pretty photo session. Even though it’s fall now (and cold as heck!) I that an autumn shoot would be pretty with her dress 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    That is amazing!! She looks great! 🙂

  3. auerion says:

    So.. is that what elves play with when they’re young? Ari, I never figured you for the type to play with dolls! And the dress is pretty, did Alnir help?

    • paladinari says:

      No, even paladins need to know how to sew and repair their own clothes. I stitched this up myself 🙂
      And she’s not a “doll”. She’s a work of art 😛

  4. It’s beautiful, you know what would make it look even more gorgeous is getting that embroidery machine you have and embroidering like the bottom of the brown dress and the edge of the white sleeves with something to add that medieval flair and detail.

Leave a Reply

