Time to Pack it Up!

Well, Ari 1.0 has had a good run. It’s hard to believe that it was just back in March when I lost my internship and decided, “You know what would cheer me up? Working with metal!” And, well, the rest is history. A lot of trial and error occurred, but I somehow ended up with a set of paladin armor that I could be proud of. Pauldrons. Gauntlets. Breastplate. Cuisses. Tassets. And oodles of fun accessories.

Of course, all good things must end. Time quickly began to take its toll on the Ari 1.0 armor set, and sadly, after this weekend, it’s going to be time to say goodbye. The breastplate is too large, is bent, and digs into me. The cuisses are bent and the aluminum catches on the rivets. I love the gauntlets, but they were always just temporary. I also love the pauldrons (and they’re the one piece of armor which has withstood the test of time!). But they’re a little bit weak and need some redesigning.

As I’ve said before, my Ari 2.0 armor set will be worked on and completed by the end of the winter (with luck!). So, this weekend at the CT Ren Faire will be Ari 1.0’s last run. I finished up my navy blue armor jacket tonight, and it looks very formal and regal with the silver armor. Very befitting of a paladin. And the perfect way to help say goodbye to the project which kept me busy and in good spirits through one of the toughest parts of my life.

So, if you haven’t seen Ari 1.0 in action yet, this weekend is your last chance! Please stay tuned for updates and pictures. It’s sure to be a great send off!

This entry was posted in Paladin Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

