Find of the Day: Character Creator

Well, technically I found this at 11PM last night and just didn’t post it (because I was having too much fun playing with it!). Basically, it’s a program which enables you to create a customized character with endless possibilities for hair, clothing, armor, accessories, pets, etc.

http://www.ugo.com/channels/comics/heroMachine2/heromachine2.asp

It took me a while to get into this, and there are still a few things I need to learn. What took the longest time was figuring out how to dress my character. Otherwise, she just stands there pretty disconcertingly nude. But you do this with the drop-down menus (which took forever for me to figure out).
I also played around with making a couple of characters. Now, I’m a really big fan of drawing anime style, and this program is based more on comic style of drawing (ie, comic books). What annoys me the most about the finished product is how small the eyes end up being. There might be a way to change this, but I can’t find it. I’m just so used to drawing and seeing huge anime eyes!
Anyway, here are my attempts at Ari and Denya. They’re far from perfect representations, but they do the job. Some things to point out: I forgot Ari’s nose, I forgot Denya’s ears, and there is a spider companion who would have made a great Webby that I forgot to put in, too. Also, it’s difficult to save a picture because the program is in Flash. I ended up taking screenshots of the following pictures since there was no other way to save them.

Have fun!

This entry was posted in Paladin Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

