Recent Happenings

So it feels like it’s been a while since I’ve actually taken the time to write a blog post. Of course, since this blog is called “The Paladin Project” and I have done nothing in the way of actually improving upon my paladin armor in the past two weeks, I guess that’s not so surprising. It’s not that I’ve lost interest in the project, it’s just that I’m not entirely sure where to go next with it. Like they say: Don’t mess with a good thing. I think that my armor looks pretty impressive, if I do say so myself. I know that there’s room for improvement, but right now, without starting to try and add things that may or may not work, it still looks fine. So I’ll leave it like that for now.
Actually, I’ve been putting some time lately into my Saber armor. The difference, I keep telling myself, between my Ari armor and my Saber armor is that the armor I made for Ari I actually wanted to be accurately functional. Yes, I know that aluminum wouldn’t hold up too well against a sword. But I think that I did a pretty good job rendering in aluminum what would be functional were it made of some other material. I made heavy use of metal and leather for that armor to stay true to the nature of the armor set.
The Saber armor, on the other hand, I’m agreeable to making “costume grade”. While the major pieces will be made out of aluminum (since I don’t think I could ever go back to craft foam again!), I don’t have a problem cutting corners to merely gain the look that I’m going for. For example, the way I’ve begun constructing Saber’s breastplate is by creating individual pieces of cut metal which I will rivet to a piece of vinyl fabric, merely to keep all of the pieces together. In actuality–considering, when you study Saber’s armor that it a) has no rivets, and b) has no visible seams–I think that Saber’s armor would be made out of one piece of shaped metal (we’re talking about the breastplate here). But since I don’t have the time, patience, or resources to do this, I think that piecing it together bit by bit is the way to go. I haven’t actually put my theory into practice yet, but I’m hoping that some guesstimating and a prayer will do some good, here.
I’m hoping to enter myself into Cosplay Chess at ConnectiCon as either Saber or Ari. The deadline for submission is June 20. I guess I’ll see how far I can get on Saber’s armor by then. And if it doesn’t seem like it’s happening, I guess I’ll try it as Ari (though I’m not sure if there’s a market for a “D&D Elf Paladin” in cosplay chess, but you never know.
Let’s see, what else has been going on…?
Ok, like Denya, Griswold and I have rats. Well, we’ve had three rats in the past few weeks. The first two were/are white lab rats who we rescued from the veterinary science lab where they would be gassed for the end of the year. We named them Chai and Jinx. Well, the first time we tried to clean their cage, they got out… and into the heater… and into the wall…
Chai we managed to chase out and capture the same day, but Jinx stayed in the wall for a whole week. True to her name, Jinx got a hold of some rat poison while she stubbornly held up in the wall. We bought a rat trap to try and lure her out with food, but, ironically, the “rat trap” was too small for her. So we finally ended up setting up a huge raccoon trap for her and catching her that way. Unfortunately, due to the nature of rat poison, once we brought her back to captivity, it was a quick few days until we found her dead, apparently from internal bleeding since rat poison is an anticoagulant. We think our hamster, Pint (who also got out overnight and died soon after), might have suffered the same fate. Rest in peace, Jinx. 😦
The next weekend, though, we found ourselves at the pet store: Griswold apparently convinced that Chai needed a friend. We ended up getting a Petco rat. She’s gray with a little white tummy, and Griswold named her Ashley (since ash is gray, and she’s gray. get it?) We haven’t put Chai and Ashley in the same cage yet, but we had them running around the bathtub tonight to get to know each other, and it seems like they’re going to be sufficiently friendly towards one another. Hopefully we’ll be able to put Ashley in with Chai by the end of the weekend.
Other than that… what’s happening? I’m still on the job hunt. I was so excited today! A potential employer actually had the decency to get back to me to tell me that they couldn’t use me at this time but would keep my resume on file for six months. No, I’m not being sarcastic. I really DID appreciate this. Because that means someone out there is actually seeing my resume and taking the time to read it. And also, the fact that the employer herself took the time to write me a letter of rejection (I didn’t just get an automated response) was greatly appreciated. So yeah… I got excited over a rejection letter today. It was my first indication that anyone REAL out there has actually been looking at what I’ve been sending them. Oh, and then I applied for three or four more jobs today. I remain hopeful. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

*sigh* Sometimes I wish I really was a paladin. Yup. No thought required. Smite first. Ask questions later. And actually know what you’re DOING with your life.

This entry was posted in Paladin Project. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent Happenings

  1. paladinari says:

    Well, I suppose there’s always a need for chivalry and valor. However, these things aren’t as prized as they used to be, I think. It’s difficult to come across a truly brave, selfless, helpful, strong, intelligent, do-gooder these days (complete with holy powers and a stubborn personality which refuses to think outside the box when it comes to justice and duty).

  2. Unfortunately our world is no longer set up for the paladin types.

Leave a Reply

